Petit Fours » A group blog of authors writing in different genres

Masthead header

New Release and Giveaway: Her Unexpected Family

Her Unexpected Family by Carol Burnside

CarolBurnside_HerUnexpectedFamily_500px

I’m excited to showcase my latest book release here on PFHT! In writing this post, I realized that what I have here is my letter to the reader, so if you purchase the book, you’ll be seeing it again. Here’s the background on Her Unexpected Family:

This story grew out of a character I introduced in A Suitable Wife. Claire was a little offbeat/kooky, but she had a big heart, and I knew from the moment she appeared on the page that she had a lot more to say. She intrigued me, and it wasn’t long before my critique partners were exclaiming how much they loved Claire and they wanted to read her story.

Claire was early twenties, yet she lived alone and there was no mention of family. Why was that? I instinctively knew she’d become cautious-friendly with only Rosie for a reason, and that reason held a lot of heartache. She was health conscious but not because it was trendy. I could feel her on emotional eggshells, waiting for the friendship to fail, for Rosie to walk away from her. Claire was also wise and mature beyond her years, showing depths behind her flippant remarks and mangled adages that didn’t appear from a charmed life.

From what little she reveals in A Suitable Wife, we know she had a lousy mom. In Her Unexpected Family, Claire reveals heart-wrenching details of her life in some of the most nonchalant, almost breezy dialogue I’ve written, delivering the hard facts in a way that tries to keep those she’s telling at a distance. Quite simply, she broke my heart.

I wondered if I’d chosen the right guy for her in Travis, Rosie Baxter’s brother. After all, he had quite the womanizing reputation. But like Claire, I’d misjudged him. He showed me how his youthful reputation haunted him, how he longed for the love and family that his older brother and younger sister now had. And he showed me that he was the perfect man for Claire, because only a lonely man who knows women well would be able to look past Claire’s surface and be patient enough to wait for her defenses to crumble. A big plus for Claire was that, if she could lower the thick emotional walls she’d built around herself, she would not only have an immediate family, but a big extended, loving family as well.

Contemporary Romance, Sensual
Released: 2.19.2014
Novel length, e-book
Format: e-book
Editor: Emily Sewell
Cover Design by Kim Killion of Hot Damn Designs
Price: $3.99

This book is the second in the Sweetwater Springs series of stand-alone books by this author.

Former bad boy, Travis Baxter, has a reputation to live down, a job to do fast, and one woman he can’t seem to avoid. He’s starting a 24/7 renovation flip on Claire’s beauty salon when a surprise appears at his door . . . a three-year-old son. Immediate custody brings Travis a major problem. He needs a nanny.

Claire Larkin glimpsed a rare and appealing side of Travis during one ill-fated date, but her personal policy is no involvement, no strings. Not even a pet until she’s pronounced cancer free. With free time until her salon is done, Claire pitches in to help the grieving little boy and stunned father. Despite her best efforts to resist, she and Travis succumb to their attraction.

When it appears Claire’s cancer has returned, she pulls away and Travis is faced with a seemingly impossible decision. Protect his son from another loss or support the woman he’s come to love?

Warning: This book contains hair salon gossip, hunky construction workers, sex in the shower, sudden humor and it might tempt you to gorge on pizza and brownies. Even so, at certain points the reader may wish to keep tissues handy.

Fans of Marie Ferrarella, Tanya Michaels, Leanne Banks and Susan Mallery will enjoy this series, which contains sensual romance against a backdrop of family and community.

Read the first chapter here:

Read a scene with delicious banter between Claire and Travis here.

Buy linksCarolBurnside_ASuitableWife200

Book 1: A Suitable Wife (Rosie and Sam) Excerpt / Buy links
Book 3: His Small Town Princess (J.T. and Cass), coming in March 2014
Other titles are planned for this series.

Connect with the author via Website / Facebook / Twitter / Newsletter / Goodreads

– – – – –

Commenters: I’m putting all non-PFHT names into a drawing. One lucky winner will win an e-copy of their choice: A Suitable Wife or Her Unexpected Family. So, start commenting!:-)

Marilyn Baron - February 24, 2014 - 2:37 am

Carol,
I enjoyed the chapter and the snippet. Thank you. Best of luck with the new series.

Susan Carlisle - February 24, 2014 - 9:02 am

I love this cover. The girl has the cutest hair. The story is just as good.

Connie Gillam - February 24, 2014 - 9:05 am

It seems like you’ve hit all the right emotional notes with this book, Carol. Good luck with the series.

Tamara LeBlanc - February 24, 2014 - 9:15 am

I love this cover, too!! Claire looks like what Ella (my heroine in my contemporary romance) would look like if she had a pixie cut!
Thanks for the links and the letter to the reader. I can’t wait to read it!
Have a great week!!!
Tamara

bn100 - February 24, 2014 - 10:54 am

Nice blurb

Colleen C. - February 24, 2014 - 12:13 pm

Congrats on this latest release!!! :D

Carol Burnside - February 24, 2014 - 12:37 pm

You’re welcome, Marilyn. Thanks!

Carol Burnside - February 24, 2014 - 12:39 pm

Thanks, Susan.

Thanks, Connie. I hope so. It’s interesting how different books get different reactions.

Carol Burnside - February 24, 2014 - 12:40 pm

Tamara, Claire does remind me a bit of Ella. That was such a fun book! You have a great week, too.

Carol Burnside - February 24, 2014 - 12:41 pm

Thanks, BN100. Nice of you to stop by and comment. Good luck!

Carol Burnside - February 24, 2014 - 12:42 pm

Thank you, Colleen C. I’m pretty excited about it. Good luck!

Pam Asberry - February 24, 2014 - 11:58 pm

I am so excited about all your new releases, Carol! I am going to have to read faster if I’m going to keep up with you! :-)

Carol Burnside - February 25, 2014 - 1:12 am

I’m excited too, Pam. More on the way…

Sandy Elzie - February 25, 2014 - 3:19 pm

Hi Carol,
Like the others, I love the cover. I also love your line about the book maybe making me want to gobble up some pizza and brownies…two of my very most favorite things in the world! Good luck with sales and can’t wait for your next release.

Carol Burnside - February 25, 2014 - 9:45 pm

Thank you, Sandy. You won’t have to wait long. ;-)

Maxine Davis - February 25, 2014 - 10:07 pm

Carol, you certainly wrote an excellent book. I read it and I love it. Hoping for more Sweetwater books soon!

Carol Burnside - February 26, 2014 - 2:06 am

I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Maxine! Thank you for saying so.

F O L L O W   U S
R E C E N T   T W E E T S